Nakano Broadway : Not Your Typical Shopping Mall

tumblr_inline_o3xyvzyzbh1qlicy6_540

I made a quick visit to Nakano Broadway recently because I heard a lot about it. A “smaller Akihabara”, a place “where all subcultures coexist”… I really didn’t know what to expect and really wanted to check it out.

Right out of Nakano station, there’s a covered shopping arcade. You just have to walk straight in for a few minutes and at the end is Nakano Broadway.

image

image

Turns out that the place itself was enough to impress me. I was in a hurry and unfortunately didn’t have time to check out the stores, but it was certainly one of the strangest shopping malls I saw. Although there are many Akihabara-style shops, there are also clothing stores and for some reason, many watch stores. Some shops are small and full of toys, while some others are artistically arranged and have some mysterious, artful vibe. And there are dozens of small Mandarake stores selling different stuff – mangas, toys, etc.

image

image

image

The one above was really impressive : you have to bend to enter ! That’s a unique entrance, especially for a Mandarake store !

The shopping mall in itself reminded me of a place I visited in Malaysia. It really have an old, somewhat messy atmosphere.

image

image

image

image

image

 

I think you can easily spend many hours there shopping, especially if you’re into anime, games or toys. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time so I didn’t buy anything. I leave you with some pictures of the stores !

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This store was definitely NOT a Sanrio store !


image
Leave a Reply

