A Weekend in Sado Island, Niigata – Part II

tumblr_inline_o12pdvctih1qlicy6_540

Back to the hotel where we had an amazing dinner and the best sashimi I ever had ! I even tried fugu for the first time, but was a bit disappointed because it basically had no taste… I guess it’s the thrill that makes it so popular !

image


image

 

In a room next to us a group of old people were having dinner and drinks with a private performance of awa-odori. They kindly invited us to watch it for a while.

image

 

Next was hot spring time, but I was not allowed because of my tattoos… so I had not much to do. There was no internet at the hotel and no convenience store to buy some drinks… (only a vending machine with beer, which I don’t drink) So I went to bed early, listening to the strong sound of the sea wind.

I woke up shocked to finally see the view from my large room window (it was already dark when we arrived the night before). A spectacular view of the agitated sea.

image

image

 

There was a wonderful breakfast buffet (I didn’t take pictures unfortunately, I guess I was too hungry) and after buying some souvenirs at the hotel shop and checking out, I tried to take some pictures outside. It was unbelievably cold and windy. The area in front of the hotel must be lovely in summer.

image

image

image

image

 

On our way back we stopped by some impressive cliff. It’s usually possible to go where the bridge is, but it was closed.

image

image

image

image

 

We also saw a small beach which is apparently absolutely beautiful in summer. They say the water becomes blue-green and it’s totally stunning.

 

image

image

 

Our next stop was an old, abandoned rock factory. I am not too sure if this was also to collect gold, but it was really impressive and eerie. Of course it was not possible to go inside but I felt really curious. Apparently they have concerts there sometimes.

image

image

image

image

image

 

Our last stop was the Toki Forest Park. Sado Island is famous for a bird called toki, or Japanese Crested Ibis. It was on the verge of extinction with only 3 left a few years ago, but thanks to the efforts of the island people there are now more than 200. The facility explained about the bird, and we were able to see some of them who were not released in the wild yet. With the cold weather, however, we didn’t feel like taking a walk in the forest.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
image

image

image

 

It was then time to go and from the port we could see for the last time the beautiful mountains covered with snow.

image
Leave a Reply

