Card Captor Sakura Art Exhibition

image

I remember watching Card Captor Sakura religiously when it was on Canadian TV, but actually I liked the manga even more. I’m a big Clamp fan (especially their earlier works) and I love their artwork, so I really wanted to see this exhibition.

I went on the last day, which was a Sunday, and it was very crowded. The exhibition was held in Solamachi, which is the shopping complex at the bottom of Tokyo Skytree : this place is obviously quite crowded, especially on weekends.

image

image

A large number of original artworks were displayed on the walls. It was difficult to see them all because of the crowd, but I felt quite nostalgic looking at them. There were some characters I had forgotten. Towards the end some recent artworks (2012-2013) were shown, it was interesting to see how the drawing style evolved.

.

At the end, some extracts of the TV series were shown, and a few old Sakura items were displayed. I’m sure there were a lot of Sakura products sold when the series was airing, so I was disappointed that there were so few of them on display.

.

The shop sold a large quantity of goods, but most of them were sold out already. I still got a few things.

.

Clear files, sold in pairs 

.

Giant paper clips

.

Postcards set

.

Surprise ring box

.

I’m really out of luck for this kind of things so of course I didn’t get the ones I wanted…

.

Inside the shop, there was also a display of new collaboration items / collectibles that have been released recently or will be soon. Photos were permitted inside the shop.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It looks like a lot of nice items will be released… I have to resist buying !

.

Bonus shot : costumes !

image

.

The Tokyo venue is already over : it lasted only 6 days, but next venues are Nagoya and Osaka. More information here.

Leave a Reply

