YG Exhibition in Japan

The YG Exhibition in Japan has now started and will be open until the end of April. Here is a summary of my visit !

First : it’s far. Very far. It’s held in a temporary building placed in the parking of Mitsui Outlets, in Chiba prefecture. It takes almost 2 hours to get there by train from central Tokyo.

When purchasing tickets you need to choose a date and time, because the highlight is a hologram performance and it’s happening on fixed hours. We chose a weekday, early time in order to avoid the crowd, and that was successful : there were only about 15 people.

The location is very easy to find : there is a bus from the train station that goes to Mitsui Outlets, and the exhibition building is right in front on the bus stop.

image

When we arrived, we were told that there were technical problems and asked to come back for the next screening one hour later. Fortunately, there are many shops and restaurants at the outlets. We decided to go eat and found out a restaurant that was offering a YG Exhibition special. We got a souvenir YG paper mat and ice cream cup.

image

image

image

Then we headed back to the exhibition and were able to enter. There were screens at the entrance and apparently each visitor needed to go there and take a picture. I totally hate seeing pictures of myself, so I tend to panic whenever I need to get my picture taken. I was trying to explain to the staff that I didn’t want to do it but he rushed me in front of the screen and my picture was taken. I didn’t even have the time to pose properly !

We entered the Hologram Theater and I realized with horror that all the visitors’ pictures were up on the screens, with different Big Bang members hairstyles. Of course, I was horrified to see my picture up there, but since I couldn’t pose properly my face wasn’t even aligned with the hair ! I was so embarrassed.

image

image

Finally, the Hologram Concert started and we were told that pictures were not allowed anymore. It was very well made and the effects were of good quality. I liked the fact that they didn’t use any old videos or images : it appears that everything was recorded especially for this event. First, Psy appeared and performed Gangnam Style and Gentleman. It was like a real concert, with him commenting and joking between the songs. English, Chinese and Japanese translations were displayed on top of the screen.

I felt nervous again when our pictures reappeared on the screens and Psy chose three of them. These three pictures were shown on the main screen (obviously bigger) and then he selected one of them and apparently that person won a gift. Even so, I was happy not to be selected.

2NE1 followed and performed Fire and I Am The Best. Special effects were nice and it felt like a real concert.

Finally, Big Bang appeared and performed Bad Boy and Fantastic Baby. Between the songs they spent some time to “talk” to the “crowd” and of course, the pictures appeared again. Then I realized they were going to do a “who is the prettiest ?” thing and I got very nervous. The members were arguing and saying “oh, this person is very cute” while showing our pictures ! (it seems they didn’t think there would be men in the audience) They finally chose three pictures… including mine (and an old man who seemed to be really bored, which was funny). At this point I was about to die of embarrassment and thought it couldn’t get worse, but then they chose my picture as the “prettiest” , and there it was put on a fake body and I was standing on stage with the members… that was terrible ! My friend couldn’t stop laughing, but I was mortified.

Obviously they didn’t “choose” anyone, my picture just happened to be in the selected spot ! Fortunately there weren’t too many people there. Now I laugh about it but I was really ashamed !

After the “performance”, we went to the next room where there were some costumes and hand prints displayed. There were also the throne from Fantastic Baby and the members’ boxes from the Alive tour, in which we could stand and take pictures. There were also photo booths to take pictures “with” the Big Bang members (and then buy the printed picture). My friend did it and it looked good. Finally, there was a shop with more stuff to buy from Big Bang, 2NE1 and Psy.

In the end, even if I ended up spending too much money, I’m glad I went. Now I look forward even more to the upcoming YG Family Concert !

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

