Latest Catch from UFO Catcher

I got this cute plush from a UFO Catcher… I really like the colors and steampunk design, so I took note of the name 千本桜 (senbonzakura) thinking I should watch this anime later. After some research, it turns out that it is not an anime, but simply a song by the vocaloid character 初音ミク (Hatsune Miku) ! This character actually comes from the music video (this one is Hatsune Miku herself, but there were others… I should go back to the UFO Catcher !) The video can be seen here.

Hatsune Miku is a good example of things that could exist only in Japan. She was released in 2007 and is very popular. Sales of software, games, figures and other derived goods are extremely high. She even has “concerts” in which she stands as an animated projection !

I kind of like the concept because it’s so unique and special. Hatsune Miku is quite cute. However, I can’t stand her voice for more than 15 seconds. Oh well…

Leave a Reply

